MANILA, Philippines - The 43rd Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) executive committee announced the full list of winners at the 2017 awards night (Gabi ng Parangal) held on Wednesday, December 27 at the Kia Theatre, Araneta Center in Cubao, Quezon City.

FULL LIST: Winners, MMFF 2017 awards night
The stars of the 2017 Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF).

This year's magic eight entries for the full-feature and short film categories of the MMFF are vying for the top acting awards and best picture.

Official entries include Derek Ramsey and Jennylyn Mercado's "All of You," Coco Martin's "Ang Panday," Vice Ganda, Daniel Padilla and Pia Wurtzbach's "Gandarrapiddo: The Revenger Squad" and Vic Sotto and Dawn Zulueta's "Meant To Beh."

Also in the movie theaters today are Joross Gamboa and Edgar Allan Guzman's "Deadma Walking," Jane Oineza's "Haunted Forest," Rachel Alejandro and Paulo Avelino's "Ang Larawan," and Jericho Rosales, Erich Gonzales and Jasmine Curtis-Smith's "Siargao."


films are "Anino" by Malaya Ad Castillo, "Anong Nangyari kay Nicanor Dante?" by Brian Spencer Reyes, "Black Market" by Gio Gonzalves, "Crab Mental" by Joaquin Bamba, "Gunita" by Ryceanne Marie Manlulu, "Isang Gabi" by Gio Gonzalves, "Kinalimutan Natin ang mga Bata" by Gilb Baldoza and "Noel" by Win Gonzales.

The awards night features the newly designed trophy by art designer Clifford Espinosa of Espinosa Arts and Design.

Here's the complete list of winners for the 2017 MMFF (refresh page for the updates):

Major Awards Winners
Best Picture
Best Actress
Best Actor
Best Director
Best Supporting Actress
Best Supporting Actor
Best Ensemble Cast
Best Screenplay
Best Editing
Best Cinematography
Best Production Design
Best Sound Design
Best Musical Score
Best Theme Song

Special Awards Winners
Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award
FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence
Male Celebrity of the Night
Female Celebrity of the Night
Best Float Award
43rd MMFF My Most Favorite Film
Children's Choice
People's Choice
Special Jury Prize

Short Films Category Awards Winners
Best Picture
Special Jury Prize
Best Screenplay

The television coverage of the awards night will be aired via delayed telecast on TV5 at 9:00 p.m.

The festival kicked off with the Parade of Stars in Muntinlupa City on December 23.

Nationwide screening is set from December 25 until January 7, 2018.

While the official ranking and gross income of respective films were not announced per agreement of the MMFF Executive Committee (Execom), producers and theater representatives, it was revealed that this year's festival broke box-office records.

"This year’s Metro Manila Film Festival broke box-office records as it surpassed the 2015 first and second day gross sales. It also tripled the foot traffic to the theaters from last year," MMFF shared on their official Facebook page.

“The big achievement is bringing back our kababayans to the theaters. It took quite some time before we saw this kind of enthusiasm once again from the Filipino viewers,” said MMFF Execom Chair Tim Orbos.

By virtue of Metro Manila Commission Executive Order No. 86-09, pursuant to Presidential Proclamation Nos. 1459, 1485, 1533, 1533-A and 1647, the MMFF is held during the Christmas Season in recognition of the role of the film industry in providing artistic depictions of both this country's stories and history.

— The Summit Express


Post a Comment